Minutes of the first meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council, following the triennial election of Members (Triennial Meeting) held in the Taranaki Regional Council Boardroom, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Wednesday 26 October 2022 at 1:00pm.



Present Councillors B J Bigham

M J Cloke D M Cram M G Davey S W Hughes A L Jamieson D L Lean

C L Littlewood D H McIntyre N W Walker C S Williamson

Attending Messrs S J Ruru (Chief Executive)

M J Nield (Director - Corporate Services) A D McLay (Director - Resource Consents)

D R Harrison (Director - Operations)

Ms A Matthews (Director - Environment Quality Miss N Chadwick (Governance Administrator)
Mrs M Jones (Governance Administrator)

Three members of the media and three staff members.

Apologies There were no apologies.

Notification of

Late Items There were no late items.

Welcome The Chief Executive, Mr S J Ruru welcomed elected members, staff,

and public to the meeting. Mr S Tamarama opened the meeting

with a karakia.

1. First meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council following the 2022 triennial general election of members (Triennial Meeting)

The Chief Executive, Mr S J Ruru, spoke to the memorandum advising Members of the proceedings for the triennial meeting.

1.1 Declaration by Member

Pursuant to the *Local Government Act* 2002 (the Act), Mr S J Ruru, Chief Executive, requested Members to make their oral declarations and sign the written version of the declaration required under section 14, Schedule 7 of the Act.

Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- 1. <u>received</u> the report First Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council following the 2022 triennial election of members (Triennial Meeting)
- 2. <u>endorsed</u> the Code of Conduct as being appropriate to be used by the Council and its committees during the 2022-2025 triennium.

Williamson/Bigham

2.0 Election of Chairperson and Declaration by Chairperson

The Chief Executive, Mr S J Ruru, called for nominations for the position of Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council. One nomination was received.

Nominated: C L Littlewood Williamson/McIntyre

There being no further nominations, Mr S J Ruru, Chief Executive, called for nominations to close and Councillor Charlotte Littlewood was duly elected Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council.

2.1 Declaration by Chairperson

Councillor C L Littlewood made an oral declaration and signed the written version of the declaration required under section 14, Schedule 7 of the *Local Government Act* 2002.

The Chairperson C L Littlewood thanked and congratulated all elected members to the Taranaki Regional Council.

3.0 Election of Deputy Chairperson

The Chairperson, Ms C L Littlewood, called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council. One nomination was received. There being no further nominations, councillor C L Littlewood called to close and Councillor Neil Walker was duly elected Deputy Chairperson and the Taranaki Regional Council.

Nominated: N W Walker Littlewood/Cloke

4.0 General Explanation of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and other law affecting Members

The Chief Executive, Mr S J Ruru, spoke to the memorandum advising Members of the relevant statutes affecting them, pursuant to the Chief Executive's statutory obligations in accordance with clause 21(5)(c), Schedule 7 of the *Local Government Act* 2002.

Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

1. <u>receives</u> the report titled *General Explanation of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act* 1987 and other law affecting Members.

Cloke/Walker

5.0 Pecuniary Interest Register

5.1 The Director- Corporate Services, Mike Nield, spoke to the memorandum advising Members of the Pecuniary Interest Amendment Act 2022.

Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- 1. received the memorandum on the Pecuniary Interest Register
- 2. <u>noted</u> that there are a number of key changes to the *Local Government Act* 2002
- 3. <u>appointed</u> the Director- Corporate Services as the Registrar in accordance with section 54G(1) of the *Local Government Act* 2002
- 4. <u>determined</u> that this decision be recognised as not significant in terms of section 76 of the *Local Government Act* 2002
- 5. <u>determined</u> that it has complied with the decision-making process of the *Local Government Act* 2002 to the extent necessary in relation to this decision; and in accordance with section 79 of the Act, <u>determined</u> that is doesn't not require further information, further assessment of options or further analysis of costs and benefits, or advantages and disadvantages prior to making a decision on this matter.

Williamson/McIntyre

6.0 Date and time of first Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council

6.1 The first Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council will be held in the Port Taranaki Boardroom, 1pm Tuesday 8 November 2022.

There being no further business, Chairperson C L Littlewood, declared the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council closed at 1: 28pm.

	Confirmed	
Chairperson:		
	C L Littlewood	
Date:	26 October 2022	