Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council, held Taranaki Regional Council Chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Tuesday 15 August 2017 at 10.45am.



Present	Councillors	D N MacLeod M J Cloke M G Davey M P Joyce D L Lean C L Littlewood M J McDonald D H McIntyre B K Raine N W Walker C S Williamson	(Chairperson)  (Deputy Chairperson)
Attending	Messrs Mrs	B G Chamberlain A D McLay G K Bedford S R Hall M J Nield S Tamarapa P Ledingham R Ritchie K van Gameren	(Chief Executive) (Director-Resource Management) (Director-Environment Quality) (Director-Operations) (Director-Corporate Services) (Iwi Communications Officer) (Communications Officer) (Communications Manager) (Committee Administrator)
	Ms Mr Mr Ms Mr Ms Mr Mr Mr Mr Mr Mr	F Mulligan H Eriwata K Holswich J Hooker E Bailey M Ritai S Collins J Menzies G Pittman D Clough	(Iwi Representative) (Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust) (Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust) (Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust) (Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust)
Apologies	There were no apologies.		
Notification of Late Items	2017 Regional Sector Group Tour and LGNZ Conference		

## 1. Confirmation of Minutes - 27 June 2017

#### Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

1. <u>takes as read</u> and confirms the minutes and resolutions and confidential minutes and resolutions of the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council held in the Taranaki Regional Council, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Tuesday 27 June 2017 at 10.30am.

Lean/Davey

## Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

# 2. Consents and Regulatory Committee Minutes - 25 July 2017

#### Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- receives the minutes and the confidential minutes of the Consents and Regulatory Committee meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council held in the Taranaki Regional Council chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Tuesday 25 July 2017 at 9.30am
- 2. <u>adopts</u> the recommendations therein.

Cloke/Raine

## Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

## 3. Policy and Planning Committee Minutes - 25 July 2017

### Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- 1. <u>receives</u> the minutes of the Policy and Planning Committee meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council held in the Taranaki Regional Council chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Tuesday 25 July 2017 at 10.30 am
- 2. <u>adopts</u> the recommendations therein.

Walker/Littlewood

## Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

## 4. Executive, Audit and Risk Committee Minutes - 31 July 2017

#### Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- receives the minutes and confidential of the Executive, Audit and Risk Committee meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council held in the Taranaki Regional Council chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Monday 31 July 2017 at 10.00am
- 2. <u>adopts</u> the recommendations therein.

Joyce/Williamson

## Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

## 5. Electoral Systems 2017 - Taranaki Regional Council elections

- 5.1 Mr M J Nield, Director-Corporate Services, spoke to the memorandum providing information to allow the Council to make a decision on an electoral system to be used for the 2019 Taranaki Regional Council triennial elections.
- 5.2 Support was given by Councillor Littlewood, Councillor Williamson and Councillor McIntyre for the Council to consider using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system for the 2019 elections. Councillor Littlewood moved the following notice of motion.
  - 1. <u>receives</u> the memorandum *Electoral Systems* 2019 *Taranaki Regional Council elections* and <u>notes</u> the requirements of the *Local Electoral Act* 2001
  - resolves change to the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system for the 2019 and 2022 local authority elections and <u>publicly notifies</u> its decision and the right of the public to demand a poll.

Littlewood/McIntyre - motion lost

## Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

1. <u>receives</u> the memorandum *Electoral Systems* 2019 – *Taranaki Regional Council elections* and <u>notes</u> the requirements of the *Local Electoral Act* 2001

2. <u>resolves</u> to retain the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system for the 2019 local authority elections and <u>publicly notifies</u> its decision and the right of the public to demand a poll.

MacLeod/Lean - motion carried

Councillor N W Walker left the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council at 11.10am.

# 6. Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust - Annual Update to the Taranaki Regional Council

6.1 Mr Simon Collins, Rotokare Scenic Reserve Trust, provided an annual report presentation to the Council on the Trust's operation activities over the 2016/2017 operational year.

#### Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

- 1. <u>receives</u> the memorandum and the 2016/17 Lake Rotokare Scenic Reserve Annual Report and presentation
- 2. <u>considers</u> the invitation to visit the sanctuary and to discuss the Trust's projects in more depth.

Joyce/Davey

## 7. Meeting Dates August-September 2017

7.1 The next six-weekly round of Council meetings for July-August 2017 were received and noted.

#### 8. General Business

8.1 Councillor C L Littlewood and Councillor D H McIntyre provided a verbal to the Council report on their attendance at the Regional Sector Group Pre-Conference tour of Northland. A brief over of the LGNZ 2017 Conference was provided by Chairman D N MacLeod.

There being no further business, Chairman D N MacLeod, declared the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council closed at 11.45am.

Confirmed		
Chairperson:	D N MacLeod	
Date:	18 September 2017	