Minutes of the first meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council, following the triennial election of Members (Triennial Meeting) held in the Taranaki Regional Council Chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford, on Wednesday 30 October 2019 at 10.30am



Present Councillors M J Cloke

M G Davey M P Joyce D L Lean

C L Littlewood D N MacLeod M J McDonald D H McIntyre E D Van Der Leden

N W Walker C S Williamson

Attending Messrs B G Chamberlain (Chief Executive)

M J Nield (Director - Corporate Services)
G K Bedford (Director - Environment Quality)

S Hall (Director - Operations)
T Davey (Communications Advisor)
P Ledingham (Communications Officer)
J Mack (Administration Manager)
L Davidson (Committee Administrator)

One member of the media and one member of the public.

Apologies There were no apologies.

Ms

Ms

Notification of

Late Items There were no late items.

Welcome The Chief Executive, Mr B G Chamberlain welcomed elected

members, staff, and public to the meeting. A special welcome was extended to newly elected Councillor Elvisa Van Der Leden.

- 1. First meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council following the 2019 triennial general election of members (Triennial Meeting)
- 1.1 Mr B G Chamberlain, Chief Executive, spoke to the memorandum informing Members of the legal requirements of the first meeting of a local authority following a triennial general election.

1.2 Declaration by Member

Pursuant to the *Local Government Act* 2002 (the Act), Mr B G Chamberlain, Chief Executive, requested Members to make their oral declarations and sign the written version of the declaration required under section 14, Schedule 7 of the Act.

1.3 Election of Chairperson and Declaration by Chairperson

The Chief Executive, Mr B G Chamberlain, called for nominations for the position of Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council. One nomination was received.

Nominated: David MacLeod Williamson/Walker

There being no further nominations, Mr B G Chamberlain, Chief Executive, called for nominations to close and Councillor David MacLeod was duly elected Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council.

1.4 Declaration by Chairperson

Councillor D N MacLeod made an oral declaration and signed the written version of the declaration required under section 14, Schedule 7 of the *Local Government Act* 2002.

The Taranaki Regional Council Waiata group performed Purea Nei to welcome the Chairperson.

The Chairperson D N MacLeod thanked and congratulated all elected members to the Taranaki Regional Council amd explained the duties of elected members for the upcoming year.

1.5 Code of Conduct

Mr B G Chamberlain, Chief Executive, explained the code of conduct for elected members.

2. General explanation of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and other laws affecting Members

2.1 Chief Executive, Mr B G Chamberlain, spoke to the memorandum advising Members of the relevant statutes affecting them, pursuant to the Chief Executive's statutory obligations in accordance with clause 21(5)(c), Schedule 7 of the *Local Government Act* 2002.

Resolved

THAT the Taranaki Regional Council

1. <u>notes</u> that the Chief Executive, pursuant clause 21 of Schedule 7 of the *Local Government Act* 2002, has provided Councillors with a general explanation of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 and other laws affecting Members.

Joyce/Littlewood

3. Date and time of first Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council

3.1 The first Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council will be held in the Taranaki Regional Council chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford on Tuesday 5 November 2019 commencing at 10.30am.

4. Election of Taranaki Regional Council Deputy Chairperson

4.1 Chairman, Mr D N MacLeod, called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council. One nomination was received.

Nominated: Councillor M P Joyce

Lean/Littlewood

There being no further nominations, the Chairman, Councillor D N MacLeod, called for nominations to close and Councillor M P Joyce was duly elected Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Regional Council.

Chairperson D N MacLeod thanked the previous deputy chairperson Councillor D L Lean for his duties in the role and welcomed Councillor M P Joyce to the position.

5. General Business

- 5.1 Mr M J Nield, Director Corporate Services, spoke in regards to the Councillors information pack that everyone has received, and went through items.
- 5.2 Mr M J Nield, Director Corporate Services, informed that Councillors technology will stay as is. It was noted that if anyone had any major issues or they required an upgrade to contact him.
- 5.3 Chairperson D N MacLeod spoke regarding nominations for Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the LGNZ Regional Sector Group, which are due Thursday 31 October, and asked Councillors if they had any recommendations. Councillor N W Walker noted that Councillors recognise that Chairman D N MacLeod knows the other members of the group and trust he will vote accordingly.
- 5.4 Other items that will be coming up in due course are nominations for Zone 3 Chairman and nominations for representatives on the National Council.

5.5 Mr B G Chamberlain, Chief Executive, spoke regarding the Essential Freshwater Submission. Council staff are working very hard to get the submission completed on time. Comments are evidence based on Taranaki. Noting that the Taranaki Regional Council played a key role in the National Submission. The submission will be brought to the Ordinary meeting for endorsement. Private submissions can also be made by anyone who wishes to do so.

The Taranaki Regional Council Waiata Group performed Whakataka te hau.

There being no further business, Chairman D N MacLeod, declared the Ordinary Meeting of the Taranaki Regional Council closed at 11.28pm.

| | Confirmed | |
|--------------|-----------------|--|
| Chairperson: | | |
| | D N MacLeod | |
| Date: | 5 November 2019 | |