

Date 20 February 2020, 10.30am

Venue: Taranaki Regional Council chambers, 47 Cloten Road, Stratford

Document: 2430273

Members	Councillors	N W Walker R Handley B Roach A Jamieson	Taranaki Regional Council New Plymouth District Council South Taranaki District Council Stratford District Council
Attending	Councillor Mr Mrs Ms Mrs Mrs Mr Mrs Ms Ms Ms	D McIntyre G Bedford H Gerrard J Mack K Hope D Miller V Araba T Jensen J Dearden T Rankin	(Taranaki Regional Council) (Taranaki Regional Council) (Taranaki Regional Council) (Taranaki Regional Council) (New Plymouth District Council) (South Taranaki District Council) (Stratford District Council) (EnviroWaste) (New Plymouth District Council) (Kellogg Rural Leadership Programme)

Apologies Apologies were received from Councillor M Bellringer, South Taranaki

District Council and Mr M Oien, Stratford District Council.

Jamieson/Roach

Notification of There were no late items. **Late items**

1. Appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

1.1 Mr G K Bedford, Director Environment Quality, Taranaki Regional Council, called for nominations for Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee.

Nominated: Councillor N W Walker Roach/Handley

1.2 There being no further nominations, Councillor N W Walker (Taranaki Regional Council) was elected Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee.

- 1.3 Mr G K Bedford, Taranaki Regional Council, vacated the Chair to Councillor N W Walker.
- 1.4 Councillor N W Walker, Chairperson, called for nominations for Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee.

Nominated: Councillor A Jamieson Roach/Handley

1.5 There being no further nominations, Councillor A Jamieson (Stratford District Council) was elected Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee.

Resolves

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

- a) <u>receives</u> this memorandum *Appointment of Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson*
- b) <u>appoints</u> Councillor N W Walker, Taranaki Regional Council, as Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management (Joint) Committee
- c) <u>considers</u> the appointment of a Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management (Joint) Committee if required and <u>appoints</u> Councillor A Jamieson, Stratford District Council as Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management (Joint) Committee
- d) <u>agrees</u> that the term of the appointment of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management (Joint) Committee be until the October 2022 local authority elections unless resolved otherwise or section 30(9) of the Local Government Act 2002 applies.

Roach/Handley

2. Confirmation of Minutes - 22 August 2019

Resolves

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

- a) <u>takes as read</u> and <u>confirms</u> the minutes and resolutions of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee meeting held at NPDC Materials Recovery Facility, Colson Road Landfill, New Plymouth on Thursday 22 August 2019 at 10.35am
- b) <u>notes</u> that the minutes of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee meeting held at NPDC Materials Recovery Facility, Colson Road Landfill, New Plymouth on Thursday 22 August 2019 at 10.35am were authenticated by the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee Chairperson, N W Walker and the Taranaki Regional Council Chief Executive, B G Chamberlain, pursuant to standing orders.
- c) <u>notes</u> that the unconfirmed minutes of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee meeting held at the NPDC Materials Recovery Facility, Colson Road Landfill, New Plymouth on Thursday 22 August 2019 at 10.35am, have been circulated to the Taranaki Regional Council, New Plymouth District Council,

Stratford District Council and South Taranaki District Council for their receipt and information.

Roach/Jamieson

3. Regional Waste Minimisation Officer Report

3.1 Ms J Dearden, New Plymouth District Council, spoke to the memorandum on significant activities undertaken by the RMO in collaboration with the district council officers, waste minimisation activities in the wider community and other matters of potential interest to the Committee.

Recommended

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

a) <u>receives</u> the memorandum Regional Waste Minimisation Officer's Report and notes the activities of the Regional Waste Minimisation Officer.

Jamieson/Handley

4. Kellogg Rural Leadership

4.1 Mrs Trish Rankin, gave a presentation on an overview of the research that she has undertaken relating to farm waste and the circular economy.

Recommended

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

a) <u>receives</u> the presentation by Trish Rankin "What a Waste! – My Story" Improve Farm Waste & Journey towards a Circular Economy.

Walker/Roach

Mrs Rankin left the meeting at 11.35am

5. TSWMC Regional Submission on Landfill Levy February 2020

5.1 Mrs K Hope, New Plymouth District Council, spoke to the memorandum to advise Members that the Ministry for the Environment (MfE) had released a consultation document, Reducing waste: a more effective landfill levy. Submissions were open up until 3 February 2020.

Recommended

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

a) <u>receives</u> and <u>notes</u> the final submission to MfE on behalf of the TSWMC.

Handley/Roach

6. Update on NPDC Kerbside Foodscraps and Landfill Collection Service

- 6.1 Mrs K Hope, New Plymouth District Council, spoke to the memorandum to update members on NPDC's Kerbside collection of foodscraps as well as the landfill collection service.
- 6.2 It was noted that one of the tables has been updated since the agenda was compiled. Mrs K Hope, will circulate this to members.

Recommended

That the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee:

a) <u>receives</u> the memorandum Update on NPDC Kerbside Foodscraps and Landfill Collection Service.

Handley/Roach

There being no further business, Committee Chairperson, Councillor N W Walker declared the meeting of the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee closed at 12noon.

	Confirmed	
Chairperson		
	N W Walker	
	21 May 2020	