Council elections 2019

Council elections will be held in October 2019.

Local body elections - October 2019The postal ballot will run from Friday 20 September to noon on Saturday 12 October. Preliminary results will be available later on 12 October.

Eleven Councillors will be elected to the Taranaki Regional Council from four constituences: North Taranaki (2), New Plymouth (5), Stratford (1) and South Taranaki (3).

See the constituency map [JPG, 159 KB]

Nominations open on Friday 19 July and close at noon on Friday 16 August.

Are you enrolled to vote?

Anyone who is living in Taranaki and on the electoral roll can vote in the Council elections. If you have moved house, you will need to update your details so your voting papers are sent to the right address. Go to the Electoral Commission website(external link) to check your details, update them if necessary or apply to be enrolled.

If you are registered on the unpublished roll, you will need to apply to the Council's electoral officer to receive your voting papers.

Contact the Council's electoral officer

Overseas voters can take part in local elections, but must ensure that they are correctly enrolled with an overseas postal address in order to receive their voting papers. Voting papers for local elections cannot be downloaded.

Ratepayer roll

People who live outside Taranaki but own propery and pay rates within the region may also be able to vote in the Taranaki local elections. If you live outside Taranaki and believe you qualify, contact the Council's electoral officer for a form to complete, sign and return, so your eligibility can be checked.

Contact the Council's electoral officer

Council elections 2019 - key dates

1 Jul Electoral Commission enrolment campaign starts
19 Jul Candidate nominations open and roll opens for public inspection 
19 Jul - 16 Aug (noon) Receipt of candidate nominations
16 Aug (noon) Candidate nominations close and roll closes
21 Aug Public notice of candidate’s names
20 - 25 Sep Voting documents delivered
20 Sep - 12 Oct Progressive roll scrutiny, special voting period, early processing
12 Oct (noon) Election day – voting closes midday
12 Oct (from noon) Preliminary results
17 - 23 Oct Declaration of results

Successful candidates will be sworn in at a Taranaki Regional Council meeting scheduled for 30 October (date subject to change).

Contact Us

Electoral Officer (Dale Ofsoske) Phone: 09 973 5212 Email an enquiry