Have your say

Submissions on the proposed representation arrangements have now closed.

On 29 June 2021, the Taranaki Regional Council reviewed its representation arrangements and resolved, under section 19I and clauses 3 and 4 of Schedule 1A of the Local Electoral Act 2001, to adopt the following proposal for the Council’s local government elections to be held on 8 October 2022.

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise a total of 11 members, being 10 general members to be elected from four general constituencies and one Māori member elected from one region-wide Māori constituency. The five constituencies reflect the following identified communities of interest:


Communities of Interest

New Plymouth General

The urban area of the New Plymouth District City Ward

North Taranaki General

The rural area of the New Plymouth District including Okato, Inglewood, Waitara and Urenui townships

Stratford General

The area of the Stratford District Council except for the portion of eastern Stratford District that lies within the Horizons Regional Council region

South Taranaki General

The area of the South Taranaki District

Taranaki Māori

All of the region

The population that each member will represent is as follows:


Māori Electoral Population (population estimate as at 30 June 2020)

Members Population per Member
Taranaki 14,600 1 14,600
General Constituency  General Electoral Population (population estimate as at 30 June 2020) Members Population per Member
New Plymouth 55,900 5 11,180
North Taranaki 21,500 2 10,750
Stratford  8,980 1 8,980
South Taranaki  23,600 2 11,800
Total  109,980 10 10,998

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each general member represents must be within the range of 10,998 + 10% (9,898 - 12,098) unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

The representation of the Stratford General Constituency falls outside the stipulated range. The Council considers that the Stratford Constituency warrants one member for the following reasons:

  • the proposed general constituencies reflect the status quo which is well understood and accepted by the regional community.
  • the constituency boundaries are closely aligned to the territorial local authority boundaries.
  • the territorial authority boundaries align with identified communities of interest within Taranaki
  • the proposed representation is close to complying with the + 10% requirement of the Local Electoral Act 2001

Have your say

Anyone with an interest in the proposed representation arrangements is invited to make a submission on the Council’s initial representation proposal. They may also choose to speak to the Council at a hearing on 24 August. 

Submissions should be limited to the scope of the proposal - that is, the total number of elected members and the names, boundaries and number of members for each constituency. The establishment of a Maori constituency or constituencies is outside the scope of this consultation. A separate consultation process has already been held on that matter and a final decision made.

Make a submission online(external link)

Make a submission by post. Print a copy of the submission form and return it by post to the Chief Executive, Taranaki Regional Council, Private Bag 713, Stratford 4352.

Make a submission by email to haveyoursay@trc.govt.nz.

Your submission must be received by 5pm on Friday, 13 August 2021.

What are the next steps?

9 July, 2021: Submissions open

13 August, 2021: Submissions close

24 August, 2021: Submitters heard by the Council

21 September, 2021: Council meeting to confirm final proposal

24 September, 2021: Public notice issued of final proposal

24 September, 2021 - 29 October, 2021: Appeal/objection period