See agendas for upcoming Council and Council committee meetings, and minutes of meetings that have taken place.

Full Council

The full Council generally meets every six weeks.

Consents & Regulatory

The Consents and Regulatory Committee deals with resource consents, compliance monitoring and pollution incidents. Generally meets every six weeks.

Policy & Planning

The Policy and Planning Committee deals with all policy matters, whether developed in-house or by third parties. Generally meets every six weeks.

Executive, Audit & Risk Committee

The Executive, Audit and Risk Committee deals with administrative and financial matters relating to the Council’s operations and works programme.

Regional Transport

The Regional Transport Committee meets quarterly and includes representatives of Taranaki's four Councils and the NZ Transport Agency.

Joint committees

The Taranaki Civil Defence Emergency Management Group and the Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee are joint committees administered by the Taranaki Regional Council.

Meetings schedule

Committee memberships (2016-2019)


Consents and Regulatory Committee

Chairperson: Cr Michael Joyce.

Deputy Chairperson: Cr Tom Cloke.

Members: Cr Mike Davey, Cr Charlotte Littlewood, Cr Matthew McDonald, Cr Bev Raine, Cr Neil Walker.

Ex officio: Cr David MacLeod, Cr David Lean.

Policy and Planning Committee

Chairperson: Cr Neil Walker.

Deputy Chairperson: Cr Charlotte Littlewood.

Members: Cr Michael Joyce, Cr Donald McIntyre, Bev Raine, Cr Craig Williamson.

Ex officio: Cr David MacLeod. Cr David Lean.

External appointments: Cr Richard Jordan (NPDC); Cr Grant Boyde (Stratford DC); Cr Phil Nixon/Cr Clem Coxhead (STDC); Bronwen Muir (Federated Farmers).

Regional Transport Committee

Chairperson: Cr Craig Williamson.

Deputy Chairperson: Cr Matthew McDonald.

Alternate Members: Cr Tom Cloke, Cr David MacLeod.

External appointments: Cr Harry Duynhoven/Cr Shaun Biesiek (NPDC); Mayor Neil Volzke/Cr Alan Jamieson (Stratford DC); Mayor Ross Dunlop/Cr Phil Nixon (STDC); Raewyn Bleakley/Ross l'Anson (NZ Transport Agency).

Executive, Audit and Risk Committee

Chairperson: Cr David Lean.

Members: Cr Tom Cloke, Cr Michael Joyce, Cr David MacLeod. Cr Neil Walker, Cr Craig Williamson.


Taranaki Civil Defence Emergency Management Group*

TRC appointment: Cr Tom Cloke (Chairperson).

Alternate Member: Cr David MacLeod.

Other Members: Mayor Neil Holdom/Cr Craig McFarlane (NPDC); Mayor Neil Volzke/Cr Kelvin Squire (Stratford DC); Mayor Ross Dunlop/Cr Phil Nixon (STDC).

Taranaki Solid Waste Management Committee*

TRC appointment: Cr Neil Walker (Chairperson).

Alternate Member: Cr David Lean.

Other Members: Cr Richard Handley/Cr Murray Chong (NPDC); Cr Alan Jamieson/Cr Jono Erwood (Stratford DC); Cr Bryan Roach/Cr Steffy Mackay (STDC).

Yarrow Stadium Joint Committee**

TRC appointments: Cr Michael Joyce, Cr Craig Williamson.

Other Members: Mayor Neil Holdom, Cr Craig Macfarlane (NPDC).

* Administered by TRC
** Administered by NPDC


Taranaki Biodiversity Trust

TRC representative: Cr Michael Joyce.

Board of Pukeiti and Pukeiti Trust Fund

TRC appointment to Board of Pukeiti: Cr Donald McIntyre.

TRC appointment to Pukeiti Trust Fund: Cr Bev Raine.

Board of Port Taranaki Ltd

TRC Directors: Cr Charlotte Littlewood, Cr David MacLeod.

Taranaki TB Free Committee 

TRC appointment: Cr Matthew McDonald.

Dairy Trust Taranaki

TRC appointment: Cr Michael Joyce

State Highway 3 Working Party

TRC appointments: Cr Craig Williamson, Cr Matthew McDonald.

Stock Truck Effluent Working Party

TRC appointment: Cr Tom Cloke.

Local Government NZ Regional Affairs Committee and Zone 3 Group

TRC representative: Cr David MacLeod.

Taranaki Stadium Trust

Cr Mike Davey, M J Nield (Director-Corporate Services).

Regional Software Holdings Ltd

TRC appointment: M J Nield (Director-Corporate Services).

Alternate: B G Chamberlain (Chief Executive).