Council news

The latest news releases from the Taranaki Regional Council.

Filter News

TRC hotline and switchboard open during lockdown

Unite against COVID-19

Wed 18 Aug 2021

The Taranaki Regional Council office is closed while the Level 4 lockdown is in force, with staff working remotely from home.

Read more

Who are our environmental champions?

TRC Environmental Awards 2021

Mon 16 Aug 2021

There’s just a week left to seek recognition for Taranaki’s environmental heroes.

Read more

Last chance to have say on representation arrangements

Taranaki Regional Council building

Fri 06 Aug 2021

Time is running out to have your say on the Taranaki Regional Council’s representation arrangements for next year’s local government elections.

Read more

New Plymouth rat numbers declining

tunnels and prints resized v2

Wed 28 Jul 2021

Urban predator control looks to be paying off in New Plymouth, with new data showing a decline in the city’s rat population.

Read more

Yarrow Stadium stand design team announced

Yarrow Stadium east stand demolition July 2021

Tue 27 Jul 2021

A consortium led by GHD Woodhead Creative Spaces and New Plymouth-based firm Boon has been awarded the contract to design the new East Stand for Yarrow Stadium.

Read more

Nominations open for region's Environmental Awards

TRC Environmental Awards 2021

Mon 26 Jul 2021

Nominations have opened for this year’s Taranaki Regional Council Environmental Awards, which recognise efforts to protect and enhance the environment – at any scale from neighbourhood to regional.

Read more

Flood barrier test to close Waitara Town Bridge

Waitara Town Bridge flood barrier

Mon 19 Jul 2021

Waitara Town Bridge will be closed to traffic and pedestrians on Wednesday (21 July) from 9.30am to 11am while a new flood barrier is tested.

Read more

Community to have say on representation

Taranaki Regional Council building

Tue 29 Jun 2021

Taranaki Regional Council is proposing to remain at 11 elected members, comprising 10 general constituency councillors and one Māori constituency councillor.

Read more