Get a trap

Taranaki Regional Council can support you with a range of traps and devices, depending on your circumstances.

Taranaki Regional Council can support you with a range of traps and devices, depending on your circumstances.

In urban areas we’re offering subsidised box-tunnel rat traps that are safe around pets and children for $10.

If you’re unsure about using a trap, we will also provide assistance and discuss options you’re comfortable with. 

Pick up a $10 rat trap and box from:

Or contact one of these schools, which are selling them for $10 to raise funds for their own conservation/environment projects. Please contact the school to arrange a time to collect your trap and free goodie bag.

New Plymouth

Frankley School - anna@frankley.school.nz

Highlands Intermediate - julz.jameson@highlands.school.nz

Sacred Heart Girls College - LBL@shgcnp.school.nz

Puketapu, Bell Block - ksowman@puketapu.school.nz

St John Bosco - matt@sjb.school.nz

Woodleigh School - sharon@woodleigh.school.nz

 

Regional

Egmont Village - poulgrain@yahoo.com

St Joseph’s Opunake - jodyclaire@xtra.co.nz

Stratford Primary - marlenel@sps.kiwi.nz

Uruti - principal@uruti.school.nz

Manukorihi Intermediate, Waitara - s.halcombe@manukorihi.school.nz

Coastal Taranaki School, Ōkato - margaret@coastaltaranaki.school.nz

Norfolk School, Inglewood - elizabeth.carter@norfolk.school.nz

Ngaere School, Ngaere/Eltham - megan@ngaere.school.nz

Oākura School - office@oakura.school.nz

Huirangi School, Huirangi/Waitara - principal@huirangi.school.nz

This list will be updated as the project expands throughout the region.

 

 

Already got your trap?

When you get your trap, be sure to register on the Trap.NZ website or app. Recording your trap location, catches and trap checks helps us monitor the success of the project and identify any predator hot spots.

It also provides invaluable data not only for this project, but for others around New Zealand wanting to do something similar. It’s simple and free, with apps for both Apple and Android.

 

What is Trap.NZ?

If you’re trapping at home, register with the online database Trap.NZ, via its website or app. Then record all your catches and also your trap checks (even when nothing has been caught). This makes Trap.NZ a source of valuable data tracking the region’s efforts and identifying gaps.

Visit Trap.NZ website(external link)